Township of Severn's Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee works to make Severn accessible for all residents and visitors. We do this by identifying and removing barriers.

Join the committee

The Accessibility Advisory Committee is a joint committee with the Township of Severn and Township of Ramara in accordance with the Ontarians with Disabilities Act and the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act.

Are you interested in being part of the Accessibility Advisory Committee? Learn how to apply for a committee position.


The Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee meets twice per year or at the call of the committee chair. If you'd like to speak before the committee at a meeting, you'll need to submit a delegation request.


The Joint Accessibility Advisory Committee consists of at least two members from each municipality:

  • two members of Council
  • two individuals with a disability

Meet the current committee members:

  • Kyle Purdy, Township of Severn
  • Teri Nelson, Township of Ramara
  • Mayor Mike Burkett, Township of Severn
  • Councillor Dana Tuju, Township of Ramara

Mandate and responsibility

The Accessibility Advisory Committee is responsible for:

  • reviewing and updating the accessibility plan
  • reporting all committee accomplishments on an annual basis
  • advising Council on matters related to accessibility

2024 to 2029 Accessibility Plan

View the Multi-Year Accessibility Plan to learn about the steps we're taking to improve accessibility in our community. The plan identifies barriers and develops a process to remove those barriers—now and in the future.